Sleigh Me: All I Want For Christmas Is…

I might have unwittingly found an untapped voting block for the Democrats. Driving around DC last week, I saw the following, which I'd only heard rumor of in recent months: a pair of somewhat anatomically correct "testicles," or "hitch nutz" as they're called by the intelligentsia, that you can hang from the back of your car or truck.

You might be thinking that someone who would feel the need to display balls — literally — on their vehicle might also have a Bush/Cheney 04 sticker on their truck. But they were dangling right next to (wait for it) an Obama 08 sticker.

Until the DNC gets to the bottom of this, I'm proposing my own social experiment involving my car and a pair of hitch nutz swinging between an NPR Morning Edition sticker and a sticker from Brown University [or some other fill-in-blank university in the Northeast].

Other items on my wish list this year:

A dear friend alerted me to this Threadless shirt. Members of the DC High Church of Indie Rock Orthodoxy, take note.

This (below), I'm absolutely serious about. If you haven't seen this awesomely bad "opera" from R. Kelly, I suggest you netflick this one now. Watch it on a rainy Saturday and get back to me. We'll have much to discuss.

Stupid that I don't own this, really:

Talking Heads: 77
Talking Heads


Thanks to fellow Voxer Kitty, I've become a fan:

Complete Peel Sessions 1986-2004
The Wedding Present

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleigh Me: All I Want For Christmas Is…

  1. FS says:

    77 is a fantastic album. I like Talking Heads best when they still had a weird, raw edge to them.

  2. Emma Peel says:

    Yeah, I've got a version of it on a tape in my car. Yes, I still have tapes. Shitty car.I'd love to get you and yummy shirts that say "does this smell familiar?" by the way…

  3. merseydotes says:

    Have you seen Weird Al's parody, Trapped in the Drive-Thru? http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=1530444115847280324
    Hilarious if you've seen and appreciate Trapped in the Closet (I've only seen a few chapters).

  4. hotrod says:

    My god, that Weird Al video was brilliant. I and my ADD were initially turned off by the prospect of a ten-plus minute Youtube video, but I'm glad I stuck it out. It's been a long while since I've listened to Weird Al, but I remain impressed with his committment to his, um, craft and his – believe it or not – subtlety. He often approaches Spinal Tap levels in his parodies, which is about the highest compliment imaginable.Oh, and 77 rules. I love songs about buildings.

  5. Emma Peel says:

    Thanks. Sara Silverman (love her) and her man also do one:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8iLCyEvEFs

Leave a comment